Banglashree for Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises: Subsidy for Energy Efficiency (EES)
Department of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises and Textiles, Government of West Bengal · Central government
West Bengal reimburses Micro and Small Enterprises up to ₹2 lakh for energy audits and conservation installations.
Closed. Applications closed on 31 March 2025. The details below describe the most recent cycle.
Key facts
- Subsidy amount
- Not specified
- Instrument
- Subsidy
- Deadline
- 31 March 2025
- Disbursement
- Reimbursed after spend
About this scheme
The Subsidy for Energy Efficiency (EES) operates as a sub-scheme within the Banglashree for Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises initiative. It was introduced by the Department of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises and Textiles, Government of West Bengal, and remains in force from April 1, 2020 to March 31, 2025. Its objectives include balanced development, fuller use of resources, employment generation, and positioning West Bengal as a leading state in the MSME sector.
Under EES, micro and small enterprises receive fiscal incentives through reimbursement of eligible energy efficiency costs. This covers part of the expenditure on energy audits carried out by certified agencies, along with a share of the cost of installing the energy conservation measures those audits recommend.
Manufacturing enterprises that began commercial production within a stipulated timeframe are eligible for support. The scheme encourages sustainable practices and lower operational costs, contributing to a more sustainable ecosystem.
Who can apply
- Eligible business forms
- Private limited company, Limited liability partnership, One person company, Partnership firm, Sole proprietorship
- Udyam registration
- Not specified
- MSME registration
- Required
- DPIIT startup recognition
- Not specified
- GST registration
- Not specified
- Where the business may be based
- West Bengal
- The applicant must be a Micro, Small or Medium Enterprise. - The applicant must operate in the manufacturing sector. - Production must have commenced on or after 1st April 2019. - The Date of Commencement of Commercial Production (DOCCP) must fall between 1st April 2020 and 31st March 2025. - The applicant may be a private, cooperative or joint sector business, a state government-owned undertaking, or an Industrial Self-Help Group (SHG).
How to apply
- **Step 1: Registration on the Shilpasathi Portal** - Go to the [Shilpasathi Portal](https://silpasathi.wb.gov.in/) and select 'Apply Online'. - Choose 'Create New' to begin a fresh registration. - Pick the Applicant Type (Industry / Business / Commercial / Charitable Society / Govt. entity) and provide the Registration Number. - Complete every mandatory field on the 'User Registration' page, then select 'Register'.
- **Step 2: Application Process** - Sign in to the Shilpasathi portal with your username and password, or through OTP. - On the user dashboard, select 'ALL SERVICES' and choose 'MSME Incentive'. - Select 'Create CAF' to generate a CAF ID, then select 'Apply Online'. - Complete the "eligibility form" and select "Save and Continue" to move on to the Common Application Form (CAF). - Within the CAF, complete all mandatory fields and select "Update and Continue" to preview. - From the Dashboard, select "Click to Proceed" to carry on with the application, then "Save" to update the information. - Select "Preview" prior to final submission. - Open the "Online Form - A" application. - Go to the "APPLY SUBSIDY" section, choose the year-wise subsidy items and select "SAVE". - Under the "FILL UP SUBSIDY" tab, enter the year-wise subsidy details for the incentive and select "Add More" for breakups. - Upload all relevant documents. - Preview the details, select "VERIFY & SUBMIT", tick the declaration box, and select "Submit Application". - Once finally submitted, an application reference number is issued for tracking status.
- **Important Note on Submission:** The first application has to be submitted within 12 months from the Date of Commencement of Commercial Production (DOCCP) or within 12 months from the date of notification of Banglashree, whichever is later.
Frequently asked questions
What is the main objective of the Banglashree for MSME Scheme?
The scheme offers fiscal incentives to entrepreneurs establishing Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises, with the objectives of balanced development, resource utilisation, employment generation and positioning West Bengal as a leading MSME state.
What is the specific objective of the Subsidy for Energy Efficiency (EES) scheme?
The EES scheme reimburses eligible micro and small enterprises for energy audits carried out by certified agencies, and for the installation costs of energy conservation measures once the audit recommendations have been implemented.
What is the reimbursement pattern for energy audits?
Micro and small enterprises that implement the recommendations of an energy audit conducted by a certified agency can claim reimbursement of half the audit cost.
What is the reimbursement pattern for energy conservation installations?
Micro and small enterprises that qualify can claim back 25% of what they spend on energy conservation installations identified through an energy audit, capped at ₹2,00,000.
What is the last date to apply for this subsidy?
The scheme remains in force until March 31, 2025, and requires the Date of Commencement of Commercial Production (DOCCP) to fall between April 1, 2020, and March 31, 2025. The first application must be filed within 12 months of the DOCCP or within 12 months of the Banglashree notification date, whichever is later, and in no case beyond the scheme's end date.
Which types of businesses are eligible?
Manufacturing MSMEs that began production on or after April 1, 2019, and hold a DOCCP falling between April 1, 2020, and March 31, 2025, are eligible — this covers private and cooperative sector units, joint sector undertakings, state government-owned companies, and Industrial SHGs.
Sectors
- Manufacturing Industrial
- Energy Efficiency
- Msme
- Manufacturing
- West Bengal
- Subsidy
Details last verified on 18 September 2026. Source: the issuer's published information.