MySubsidy

Rajasthan BESS Transmission & Wheeling Exemption

Department of Industries and Commerce, Government of Rajasthan · Central government

Rajasthan gives grid-connected Battery Energy Storage Systems (BESS) a 100% exemption from transmission and wheeling charges for 7 years.

Open, rolling. Applications are accepted continuously — there is no deadline.

Key facts

Subsidy amount
Not specified
Instrument
Subsidy
Deadline
Rolling
Disbursement
Reimbursed after spend
Scheme duration
85 months

About this scheme

Under the Rajasthan Investment Promotion Scheme (RIPS) 2024, this incentive provides a 100% exemption on transmission and wheeling charges for seven years. It applies to Battery Energy Storage Systems (BESS) connected to the electrical grid at 11 kV or 33 kV substations in Rajasthan. The exemption is intended to lower operational costs for BESS developers and operators and to encourage the deployment of energy storage infrastructure in the state.

Energy storage systems of this kind support grid stability, the integration of intermittent renewable sources such as solar and wind power, and a reliable power supply across Rajasthan. The exemption is a financial incentive for large-scale energy storage projects in the state.

The measure is linked to Rajasthan's renewable energy targets and to private investment and job creation in the clean energy sector. It also aligns with national efforts on grid resilience and environmentally responsible energy practices.

Who can apply

Eligible business forms
Not specified
Udyam registration
Not specified
MSME registration
Not specified
DPIIT startup recognition
Not specified
GST registration
Not specified
Where the business may be based
Rajasthan

- Battery Energy Storage System (BESS) connected at 11 kV grid sub stations - Battery Energy Storage System (BESS) connected at 33 kV grid sub stations

How to apply

- The Rajasthan Investment Promotion Scheme (RIPS) 2024 provides the overarching framework within which applications for this exemption are handled. - BESS developers seeking the exemption generally have to register their project under RIPS, usually via a portal or agency designated by the state government. - Project details must be furnished with the application, covering the technical specifications of the BESS, the proposed grid connection (11 kV or 33 kV), investment plans, and evidence of legal entity status. - The exemption may be claimed for the specified period of seven years once the project has been approved under RIPS and satisfies the criteria laid down specifically for BESS. - The official RIPS 2024 guidelines or the website of the relevant state department would carry further particulars on the application format and the documentation required.

Apply on the issuer's site

Frequently asked questions

Q: What is the primary benefit of this program?

Eligible Battery Energy Storage Systems (BESS) receive a full waiver of transmission and wheeling charges for seven years under this programme.

Q: Who is eligible for this exemption?

Battery Energy Storage Systems (BESS) linked to 11 kV or 33 kV grid sub stations in Rajasthan qualify for eligibility.

Q: What type of funding is this?

It is a regulatory subsidy or exemption: instead of a cash grant or loan, it gives direct financial relief by waiving specific charges.

Q: Is there an application deadline?

The Rajasthan Investment Promotion Scheme 2024 does not set a specific application deadline for this incentive; eligible projects can generally apply on a rolling basis under the ongoing scheme.

Q: What is the duration of the exemption?

Transmission and wheeling charges are waived for seven years, counted from the date the BESS project is commissioned.

Q: Are there any specific industry or geographical restrictions?

Rajasthan offers this incentive to Battery Energy Storage Systems (BESS) projects set up within the state, with the aim of drawing investment into the climate and energy sector.

Sectors

  • Climate Energy Ev
  • Energy Storage
  • Renewable Energy
  • Grid Infrastructure
  • Rajasthan Policy
  • Battery

Details last verified on 16 September 2026. Source: the issuer's published information.