Rajasthan Conversion Charge Exemption
Department of Industries and Commerce, Government of Rajasthan · Central government
RIPS 2024 gives Rajasthan manufacturing enterprises 75% exemption and 25% reimbursement on conversion charges.
Open, rolling. Applications are accepted continuously — there is no deadline.
Key facts
- Subsidy amount
- Not specified
- Instrument
- Subsidy
- Deadline
- Rolling
- Disbursement
- Reimbursed after spend
About this scheme
Under the Rajasthan Investment Promotion Scheme (RIPS) 2024, the Conversion Charge Exemption and Reimbursement programme offers an incentive to manufacturing enterprises in the state. Conversion charges apply when agricultural land is converted to industrial or commercial use, or when the use of industrial land already in existence is changed. For businesses, especially MSMEs and startups setting up or expanding manufacturing units, these charges often amount to a sizeable upfront cost.
The scheme addresses this financial barrier through relief on two fronts: 75% of the conversion charge is exempted, while the remaining 25% is reimbursed by the Government of Rajasthan. The intent is to draw new investment into manufacturing, make land acquisition and utilisation simpler, and assist existing units in expanding.
By lowering this cost, the incentive allows enterprises to direct their capital towards core activities such as infrastructure development, technology upgrades, and job creation, instead of locking it into regulatory compliance. It sits within a wider policy framework aimed at positioning Rajasthan as a destination for industrial investment and simplifying administrative processes for businesses.
Who can apply
- Eligible business forms
- Private limited company, Limited liability partnership, One person company, Partnership firm, Sole proprietorship
- Udyam registration
- Not specified
- MSME registration
- Not specified
- DPIIT startup recognition
- Not specified
- GST registration
- Not specified
- Where the business may be based
- Rajasthan
- The enterprise must be engaged in manufacturing and must operate within Rajasthan. - The enterprise must be covered under the Rajasthan Investment Promotion Scheme (RIPS) 2024.
How to apply
- **Check eligibility:** Confirm that your manufacturing unit satisfies the conditions set out under the Rajasthan Investment Promotion Scheme (RIPS) 2024 for this particular incentive. - **Assemble paperwork:** Collect the documents required, which generally comprise evidence of enterprise registration, land ownership or lease records, particulars of the land conversion, and receipts or assessments relating to conversion charges. - **Complete the application form:** Fill in the prescribed form specified in the official RIPS 2024 guidelines or available on the concerned department's website. - **File the application:** Send the fully completed application package to the designated authority, in most cases the District Industries Centre or the Department of Industries/Finance in Rajasthan. - **Verification and approval:** The concerned department will scrutinise the application to establish eligibility and verify the particulars of the conversion charges. - **Disbursement of benefit:** Once verification and approval are completed, the 75% exemption is applied and the 25% reimbursement is processed and paid out to the eligible enterprise.
How applications are assessed
The Department of Industries or the Finance Department of the Government of Rajasthan assigns the scrutiny of Conversion Charge Exemption and Reimbursement applications to a committee or to designated officers. Verification covers the manufacturing enterprise's eligibility under the Rajasthan Investment Promotion Scheme (RIPS) 2024 — the nature of the business, its operational status, land conversion details and the validity of the conversion charges.
Approval rests on adherence to the policy guidelines and on the documents furnished by the applicant. There is no competitive selection, as would be the case in an accelerator or a grant competition.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Conversion Charge Exemption and Reimbursement program?
Under the Rajasthan Investment Promotion Scheme (RIPS) 2024, manufacturing enterprises are exempt from 75% of conversion charges, while the remaining 25% is reimbursed.
Who is eligible to claim this benefit?
Manufacturing enterprises in Rajasthan that meet the general eligibility conditions of the Rajasthan Investment Promotion Scheme (RIPS) 2024 qualify, with the scheme aimed at businesses undertaking manufacturing activities that involve land conversion.
What kind of charges are covered under this scheme?
The scheme covers conversion charges, meaning the fees state governments levy when land use is changed from agricultural to non-agricultural purposes or when the designated use of industrial land is altered.
Is there a specific deadline to apply for this exemption and reimbursement?
Under an ongoing state policy such as RIPS 2024, this incentive is usually open on a rolling basis, with applications accepted continuously for as long as the policy remains in force. Individual applications under such ongoing schemes generally carry no separately announced deadline.
How does this scheme benefit manufacturing enterprises?
By covering 75% of land conversion charges as an exemption and reimbursing the remaining 25%, the scheme lowers this cost burden and releases capital that enterprises can direct towards core operations, expansion or technology upgrades, supporting growth and employment.
What is the application process for this program?
In Rajasthan, you apply by submitting a formal application, usually to the Department of Industries or Finance Department, along with documents covering your manufacturing enterprise, land details and proof of conversion charges paid or due. Processing follows the guidelines of the Rajasthan Investment Promotion Scheme (RIPS) 2024, with the specific forms and procedures set out in the policy's implementation guidelines.
Sectors
- Manufacturing Industrial
- Rajasthan
- Manufacturing
- Subsidy
- Enterprise Support
- Cost Reduction
Details last verified on 16 September 2026. Source: the issuer's published information.