RIPS 2024 R&D Unit IP Support
Department of Industries and Commerce, Government of Rajasthan · Central government
Rajasthan covers 50% of patent, copyright, trademark and GI costs for standalone R&D units, GCCs and test labs, up to INR 5 crore.
Open, rolling. Applications are accepted continuously — there is no deadline.
Key facts
- Subsidy amount
- Up to ₹5,00,00,000
- Instrument
- Subsidy
- Deadline
- Rolling
- Disbursement
- Reimbursed after spend
About this scheme
A research-only operation tends to produce intellectual property at a faster rate than it produces revenue, and RIPS 2024 provides its highest IP support ceiling for precisely this scenario. For **standalone R&D units**, which include Global Capability Centres and test labs, **the State reimburses 50% of the expenditure incurred on patents, copyrights, trademarks and geographical indicator registration, subject to a maximum of INR 5 crore**.
This ceiling is five times the amount available to manufacturing and services enterprises under the same scheme, which reflects the number of filings a dedicated research unit generates. Since all four IP categories share this single limit, an ongoing international filing programme can be consolidated into one claim.
Disbursement is made against expenditure actually incurred, and claims must be filed through the RIPS 2024 process on Rajasthan's single-window investment portal.
Who can apply
- Eligible business forms
- Not specified
- Udyam registration
- Not specified
- MSME registration
- Not specified
- DPIIT startup recognition
- Not required
- GST registration
- Not specified
- Where the business may be based
- Rajasthan
- Eligible entities: standalone R&D units, Global Capability Centres and test labs located in Rajasthan - Costs covered: patent, copyright, trademark and geographical indicator registration - Reimbursement applies only to costs actually incurred - Claims must be filed through the RIPS 2024 application process
How to apply
1. Register the R&D unit, GCC or test lab through the Rajnivesh single-window portal. 2. File applications for patents, copyrights, trademarks or GI, and settle the corresponding fees. 3. Lodge the IP incentive claim under RIPS 2024. 4. Enclose filing receipts, attorney invoices and proof of payment. 5. Provide documentation confirming the unit operates as a standalone R&D entity.
How applications are assessed
There is no competitive selection involved. Before releasing the grant, the department checks that the unit qualifies as a standalone R&D entity and validates the intellectual property costs being claimed; once satisfied, it disburses 50% of the eligible amount, subject to a maximum of INR 5 crore.
Frequently asked questions
How much does the State pay?
Half the expenditure on patents, copyrights, trademarks and geographical indicator registration is covered, subject to a ceiling of INR 5 crore.
Who qualifies as a standalone R&D unit?
Under RIPS 2024, standalone R&D units covered by this clause also include Global Capability Centres and test labs.
Why is the ceiling higher here?
Manufacturing and services enterprises can claim a maximum equivalent benefit of INR 1 crore, while the separate R&D category carries a limit of INR 5 crore.
Is it paid before filing?
No. The State reimburses a portion of the cost you have already incurred, so claims are filed against actual expenditure.
Do foreign filings count?
The clause reimburses costs incurred for the listed IP categories, so you must document each filing and its associated cost at the time of claiming.
Where do I apply?
Apply through the RIPS 2024 application on Rajasthan's Rajnivesh single-window portal.
Sectors
- Deeptech Electronics Robotics
- Rajasthan
- Rips2024
- Randd
- Gcc
- Testlabs
- Patents
- Ipsupport
Details last verified on 16 September 2026. Source: the issuer's published information.