MySubsidy

MSME Foreign Patent Reimbursement

Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises, Government of India · Central government

The scheme reimburses Udyam-registered MSMEs 100% of foreign patent registration costs, up to Rs 5 lakh.

Open, rolling. Applications are accepted continuously — there is no deadline.

Key facts

Subsidy amount
Up to ₹5,00,000
Instrument
Subsidy
Deadline
Rolling
Disbursement
Reimbursed after spend

About this scheme

Under the IPR component of the MSME Innovative Scheme, an Udyam-registered MSME may seek full reimbursement of the actual expenses incurred for registering a patent outside India. The ceiling for this reimbursement is Rs 5 lakh per foreign patent. Covered expenses comprise facilitation fees, all government levies, charges for designs, diagrams and drawings, attorney fees, consultancy costs, prior art search and analysis, drafting of provisional and complete specifications, prosecution and hearing charges, examination and publication fees, PCT or international filing fees, and other related incidental costs.

To support a claim, the applicant must furnish original invoices, bills and receipts as evidence of payment.

Who can apply

Eligible business forms
Not specified
Udyam registration
Not specified
MSME registration
Required
DPIIT startup recognition
Not specified
GST registration
Not specified
Where the business may be based
Not restricted

- MSME or entity holding a valid Udyam Registration. - Costs genuinely incurred for registration of a foreign or PCT patent. - Claim substantiated by original invoices, bills, and receipts.

How to apply

- Create an account on the MSME Innovative portal using your Udyam Registration details. - Submit the reimbursement request along with the original invoices, bills, and receipts for the registration costs. - Once the registration and supporting paperwork are verified, the claim is processed.

Apply on the issuer's site

Sectors

  • Msme Innovative Scheme
  • Ipr
  • Patent
  • Foreign Patent
  • Reimbursement

Details last verified on 9 September 2026. Source: the issuer's published information.