MySubsidy

Odisha Electricity Duty Exemption Green Hydrogen & Ammonia

Industries Department, Government of Odisha · Central government

Odisha gives Green Hydrogen and Green Ammonia manufacturing units full Electricity Duty exemption for 20 years.

Open, rolling. Applications are accepted continuously — there is no deadline.

Key facts

Subsidy amount
Not specified
Instrument
Subsidy
Deadline
Rolling
Scheme duration
243 months

About this scheme

The Government of Odisha offers an Electricity Duty Exemption under its Industrial Policy Resolution 2022. The scheme applies to Green Hydrogen and Green Ammonia manufacturing units set up in the state, and waives 100% of the Electricity Duty payable by them.

Because these industries consume large amounts of power, the exemption lowers their operating costs and improves their competitiveness, which is expected to draw investment into the sector.

The scheme forms part of India's wider renewable energy goals and is intended to make Odisha a destination for green technology investment.

Who can apply

Eligible business forms
Private limited company, Limited liability partnership, One person company, Partnership firm, Sole proprietorship
Udyam registration
Not specified
MSME registration
Not specified
DPIIT startup recognition
Not specified
GST registration
Not specified
Where the business may be based
Odisha

- Only units manufacturing Green Hydrogen and Green Ammonia may apply. - The exemption runs for 20 years, counted from the date the unit begins commercial production.

How to apply

- Green Hydrogen and Green Ammonia manufacturing units that wish to apply should consult Section 4.5.2.b.iv.1 of the 'Industrial Policy Resolution 2022 Odisha', which sets out the application framework and the specific particulars. - Assemble the full set of documents — project proposals, incorporation certificates and any other forms prescribed by the Industries Department, Government of Odisha. - Send the completed application to the authority nominated for this purpose, following the procedure laid down in the policy. - Once verification and approval are completed, the exemption is allowed, and it takes effect from the date the unit starts commercial production.

Apply on the issuer's site

Frequently asked questions

What is the primary benefit offered by this program?

Eligible manufacturing units receive a full exemption from Electricity Duty, so no electricity tax is payable on consumption during the specified period.

For how long can an eligible unit avail this exemption?

Electricity Duty exemption applies for 20 years, counted from the date the manufacturing unit begins commercial production.

Which specific types of manufacturing units are eligible for this benefit?

Only manufacturing units producing Green Hydrogen and Green Ammonia in Odisha qualify for this exemption.

How does this exemption support businesses in the Green Hydrogen and Ammonia sector?

Waiving Electricity Duty cuts running costs for these power-heavy manufacturing processes, which improves project viability, draws fresh investment and strengthens the competitiveness of Green Hydrogen and Ammonia production in Odisha.

Is there a specific application deadline for this exemption?

The exemption applies from the date commercial production begins, so it is a continuing benefit rather than a scheme with a fixed application window. Units may therefore apply once they have set up and started operations, through the standard application process under the Industrial Policy Resolution 2022, Odisha.

What is the process to claim this Electricity Duty Exemption?

The Industrial Policy Resolution 2022 Odisha document sets out the application procedure, which generally requires submitting the prescribed documents to the designated authority in the Industries Department, Government of Odisha, at the relevant stage of project implementation.

Sectors

  • Climate Energy Ev
  • Manufacturing Industrial
  • Green Hydrogen
  • Green Ammonia
  • Manufacturing
  • Electricity Duty
  • Odisha
  • Clean Energy

Details last verified on 18 September 2026. Source: the issuer's published information.